top of page

I fly today.

The day has come. Today, I fly to Kenya.

Despite the fact that this trip has been a long time coming, the day has come round all of a sudden, and I can't quite believe that this time tomorrow, I'll be in Kenya.

My feelings are a mixture of nerves and excitement at the moment. Venturing into the unknown often provokes such sentiments, and the best cure, I have found, is to just get on the plane and get going.

People have asked me what I hope to get out of this trip, and what I think it's going to be like. I think it's going to be tough, as I'll be living in quite basic conditions and the way of life is very different in Kenya, so I'm anticipating a bit of a culture shock when I first arrive. I also think that it will be amazing- perhaps not all the time, but spending 9-weeks in another country, living with a local family, working with young people and really integrating into the culture and way of live is such a unique opportunity, and one I intend to make the absolute most of.

I'm looking forward to finding out what Kenya is really like- the people, the food, the landscape, the cultural norms and practices... I feel that I have so many preconceptions of the country, most of which are probably wrong. I hope that this trip will give me an insight into the reality of the country- going beyond the stereotypes to offer a true understanding of Kenya and the people there.

I think the lack of internet access is going to do me good. It's about time I had a social media detox, and I can't wait to just live in the moment by default, instead of constantly glancing at my phone.

I'll be writing a journal while I'm away, and will hopefully capture moments that I can share with family and friends upon my return.

While I'm away I'll receive my university degree results (if I can access the internet at any point), miss my graduation and have my 22nd birthday. I kind of love that all of these quite substantial events are happening while I'm over there. It puts them in perspective a little, as chances are I won't even bat an eyelid when each comes round.

Anyhow, that's it from me for the next 9 weeks. I'm sure I'll have masses of updates when I return!

bottom of page