top of page

Reasons to give triathlon a go

"I've decided to give triathlon a go this year."

Cue raised eyebrows, a slight grimace and a nod of respect. Triathlon is evidently not for the faint-hearted.

It takes a certain type of individual to voluntarily put themselves through three heights of absolute exhaustion for 'fun'.

Triathlon, as the name implies, is made up of three sports: running, cycling and swimming. Standard triathlons begin with a 1500m swim, 40km cycle and end with a grueling 10km run. As a keen runner, enthusiastic cyclist but somewhat inefficient swimmer, I decided that the sprint triathlons (750m swim, 20km bike, 5km) were probably the best place to start.

 

Triathlon appealed to me because I wanted a challenge. Having worked hard to establish a good level of fitness, it seemed appropriate to set a goal- something that would be difficult but achievable with hard work and perseverance. It would also help me to judge by ability against others, and spark my competitive nature, giving me something to aspire to and aim towards.

Fortunately, my university has an thriving triathlon club, suited to all levels and with a diverse training programme, so I was able to give it a go without the pressure of a more competitive team.

I was a little apprehensive but so far, it has been great and definitely hasn't disappointed. Here are some of the benefits I have found with the sport, and why I'd recommend giving it a try.

1) The training is varied

One great thing about triathlon is the diversity of training. Training for three different sports means that the workout is rarely the same two days running, increasing all-round fitness and allowing your body to recover. A week of my training tends to consist of a longer run, speed track session, swimming training (both technique and endurance), circuits and a bike ride at the weekend.

2) It's a sociable sport

Although triathlon races are very much an individual venture, if you're in triathlon club, you'd be surprised about how much it feels like a team sport. You are always seeing each other at training- catching up as you puff up a hill on a group run or stop for a coffee on a bike ride. When you compete, you are representing the team just as much as yourself, and in my first race, I was thrilled to have my teammates cheering me on as I headed for the finish line. It gives you the chance to meet people with similar interests to yourself, and provides you with all the running buddies you could ever wish for.

3) It pushes you to your limits

I thought I had a pretty hardcore workout schedule...then I joined triathlon. My first duathlon was a shock- it seems that putting running and cycling together, one after the other, is pretty tough. The final two mile run was a struggle- shallow breath, heavy legs and a very red face, I did find myself questioning my sanity for putting myself through this voluntarily. Yet, as soon as the race was finished I was grinning from ear to ear, stuffing my face with flapjacks and feeling very accomplished. If you're growing bored with gym workouts or daily runs and feeling as though it has all become rather mundane, then give triathlon a go- I promise you won't get bored.

4) You can compete in a non-pressure environment

Often people think triathlons are only for super fit people and elite athletes- this isn't the case at all. There are plenty of novice triathlon races for people starting out who want to take it at their own pace in a non-pressure environment. Race distances vary, and participants can take their time around the course at a comfortable pace. It is definitely wise to train and have a solid level of fitness before attempting a race to avoid injury, but don't be put off if you've never done one before and just want to give it a go in your own time. There are always going to be the competitive few who race off at the beginning and pace it all the way round, but don't be deterred if this is not your scene as there are also many opportunities for people who are just giving is a go for fun.

5) You get to wear cool gear

Let's be honest, we all like to look the part when we do sport. As a triathlete, you get to kit out for three sports- and then invest in a Tri-suit which encompasses them all in one (it's basically swimwear material with just enough cycle padding to ensure comfort while allowing you to run without waddling like a penguin). In my case, I found there was definitely a bit of 'all the gear, no idea' at the beginning, but you soon learn the tricks of the trade to make your training that bit more comfortable and before you know it, you not only look the part but can play it as well.

6) Your Strava looks epic

Strava is made for triathletes. You'll soon find your feed is full of runs, cycles and swim sessions and your teammates are very reliable kudos-givers. 'Smile for Strava' can often be overheard when photo opportunities arise on group rides, and your old running buddies are amazed at your progress as all your training begins pays off. Vanity aside, it's also pretty good for practical purposes as well- it is useful for tracking your activity and helps you mix up your training programme as you can get inspiration from others and discovering good routes in your area.

 

Triathlon definitely isn't got everyone, but if you're tempted in the slightest then I really recommend at least giving it a try. I was a little unsure at the beginning but now I only wish I'd got into it earlier! #trihard

bottom of page