top of page

It's almost over...


 

​I stood there, a cardboard sign gripped in my hand as my Dad took my photo before we bid farewell. 'A year from now...' it ​read.

I felt a peculiar mix of emotions. Fear, excitement, nervousness, relief. It was finally happening. The stress and planning was over- I was headed to D.C. I didn't know what to expect, but I did feel as though I knew one thing for sure. In a year, I wouldn't be exactly the same person as the girl holding that sign.

 

A year has now (almost) passed. So here goes...a little round up of my year abroad in Washington D.C.

There have been ups, there have been downs. Events have occurred that I- and everyone else- could not have anticipated. I don't know whether I have changed as a person, but I have certainly learned a great deal- about the US, Americans, politics, life...and about myself.

 

So the highlights...

Being in D.C. during the election and its aftermath was pretty epic, especially as the result was so surprising. Being witness to the pre-election hype and post-election shock was an incredibly unique experience.

The Women's March the day after inauguration was awesome. It sounds lame but I really felt as though I was part of a moment that would go down in history. The hype, determination and elation of all those involved inspired positivity and hope. That's one of the things I've loved about being in D.C.- having the opportunity to witness these movements and protests. There's a real feeling of people power and determination to be the drivers of change.

Aside from politics, my classes at American University benefited me far more than I had anticipated. I love the debate, the interaction and the attitude of the professors in my classes, and I think I've been particularly lucky as my professors really make the effort to engage with students and invest in us as individuals. I have received masses of support and advice in ways to achieve my goals. Their positivity has been endless, and they have nurtured my ambition, encouraging me to aspire towards my ultimate career goals rather than settle for what I think I should be doing. Persistence and determination is what they say. Work hard, and if you have the talent and give yourself the opportunities to know the right people who can help you, you will succeed and get where you need to be.

Finally, I've met some really great people. When you're abroad, away from family and friends back home, relationships are everything. I'm so lucky to have found people I could relate to. I'll be visiting y'all on my round the world trip!

 

I said earlier that there had been ups and downs and I'd be lying...or withholding the absolute truth, if I didn't include some of the hurdles I have faced during my time in D.C. A year abroad isn't easy, and I think the tougher side of the experience is rarely known as people only see what is posted on social media or the things you choose to tell them. I definitely had some struggles.

 

My living situation was far from ideal, and that's difficult when you're already in a place where you don't know many people or have much support. Luckily I made some great friends who offered an escape from my somewhat hostile living environment.

Relationships have also been tested during my time across the pond. People move on with their lives and it can be tough watching this happen and it feels a little as though you are being forgotten. The good thing about this is that you come to know the people you can really count on, who make an effort to stay in touch and are there when you need them. I also made plenty of my own mistakes and let go of some relationships that were important to me. You live and you learn.

 

Sometimes my other friends who are in D.C. from abroad ask me whether I would have still chosen to come had I known what it would be like here beforehand. It's true that my time here has been very different from what I envisioned but the answer to that question is still yes. Trying my best not to sound cheesy here but I do think that this year in D.C. will always be a part of me. Whether it's the things I learned, the people I met, or the independence I gained, I'll carry it with me forever.

There are moments when I look around, and wonder what on earth I am doing. Why am I the English girl sat in a coffeeshop in D.C. having this experience. It's bizarre. For almost a year, I feel like I have been living a different life and I guess in a sense I have. I will soon return to Exeter and slot right back into my usual routine of lectures, brunching at Bill's and Monday night Body Pump... My time in D.C. will be just a memory- but a memory that has shaped me nevertheless.

 

Anyhow, my time in the US isn't quite finished yet. Next week I'm heading off on a road trip- starting in Houston and making our way East before heading up to Nashville. It's likely to be fraught with mishaps and adventure so stay tuned! I'm then heading over to Canada to visit family before making my way back across the pond. It's been quite a year!

 

bottom of page